Meet Ella Lowgren — The Senior Creative Designer of Guild of Guardians

Guild Of Guardians
5 min readNov 23, 2022

--

We’re on a mission to onboard hundreds of millions of gamers into digital ownership via NFTs by building the world’s most popular mobile RPG where players can turn their passion for gaming into real assets.

It’s a bold ambition, and bold ambitions require relentless focus, teamwork, and some of the best talents in the industry. In this ‘Meet the Team’ series, we take a behind-the-scenes look at the team who are passionately building and spearheading the next frontier of gaming.

Guardians say ‘Hello’ to Ella Lowgren, the AMAZING Senior Creative Designer of Guild of Guardians! An adventurer at heart, Ella loves to Ski and Ride motorcycles. But at home, she embraces her creative side, where she develops Indie games and creates jaw-dropping art. We are proud to introduce you to our badass on the outside but artistic talent on the inside, Ella Lowgren!🖤

Tell us about yourself, Ella!

Hello! I’m Ella, and I love making video games. By day I can be found at Immutable, and by night I’ll release an indie game for free, every now and then.

You’re the Senior Creative designer for Guild of Guardians — What exactly does your role entail? And what does a day in the life at Guild of Guardians look like for you?

My days always look different, which is why I love working in creative design. I’m never bored! Sometimes I can be found making slide decks, ideating on systems or creating mockups, while on others, I can be found delving into the lore, facilitating narrative within the core game-play loop and liaising with vendors.

The best part of being a creative designer is getting to work across multiple disciplines and seeing your work reflected in the game. It’s both equally rewarding and challenging, so I’m always working to make things as cohesive and interesting as possible.

You have worked on the creative design for numerous amazing games! What makes game design different from non-game-related design?

Designing games is completely different from designing other forms of media, which is part of what makes it so exciting. This is mainly because video games have more moving parts than other mediums such as film, TV, radio or literature. There’s not only the writing but the programming, art, music, soundscape, UI/UX and core game-play loop to consider. With so many disciplines contributing to a game, it is possible to craft experiences that can often be more engaging than other forms of media, though arguably, it is also more work.

However, the intersection of all these moving parts is what makes designing video games a satisfying puzzle to plan, create and execute.

Why does creative design play such an important role in building an amazing game?

The creative design focuses more so on the story and the vehicles we use to tell that story. Everything from the environment to the heroes is part of the process, and each asset expands the world and the player’s understanding of the said world. Music and audio play into this, and it’s important that the themes and experiences you want your players to have, are echoed throughout the game and its systems.

What is your process when it comes to making a breathtaking design?

This is a hard one, as it can be very different each time! I like to frame changes or designs as answering a question or addressing the underlying cause of a problem. By framing each design decision intentionally and understanding how it will enhance the game for a player, more amazing design solutions can emerge.

What is it about GOG that you love?

There are so many possibilities! Between our world and heroes, there are numerous exciting stories that remain to be told that I can’t wait to tell.

You are an advocate of ADHD. Can you tell us about your experiences and what advice you would have for others with ADHD?

I was diagnosed with ADHD when I turned 26, so I want to let everyone know that it is never too late to be diagnosed. (After all, the reason I pursued a diagnosis is that my father got one when he was in his 50s, which was the catalyst for me pursuing my own.)

I always knew that my brain worked differently, so throughout life, I had gathered a lot of coping mechanisms to overcome this. The diagnosis gave me tools to use within my work life and personal life that have made things easier both day-to-day and long-term. I also take medication for my ADHD, which has helped further, as, in my experience, it’s like having glasses for my brain. I am able to focus more easily without outside distractions, and the barrier to entry of starting tasks is reduced. Medication isn’t for everyone, so it’s something to be discussed with your medical professional and then decided upon personally.

If you think you may have ADHD, I cannot recommend talking to a doctor about it more highly. There are more resources than ever before that can help you thrive with it.

You are someone who has many hobbies! What other things are you passionate about?

So many things! I love going fast, so two of my favourite things to do are ski and ride motorcycles. (I am even a qualified ski instructor.) I also love playing sports, running with my Dalmatians, making art, making indie games, DIY-ing furniture, writing, and taking photos.

Where do you want to see yourself in 10 years?

Making video games and riding a faster motorcycle.

Where can the community connect with you?

I apologise in advance for my nonsense on Twitter….

Twitter — https://twitter.com/ellalowgren

We hope you enjoyed getting to know our Senior Creative Designer, Ella Lowgren. Stay tuned for the next edition to learn more about the people behind the game Guild of Guardians.

Until next time.

--

--

Guild Of Guardians

Guild Of Guardians is a blockchain mobile RPG published by Immutable, and developed by Mineloader. Turn your passion for gaming into Assets!